Ivan Nevil Fire Service Leadership Award

The Ivan Nevil Fire Service Leadership Award was established in March 0f 2011. The Ivan Nevil Fire Service Leadership Award recognizes an individual who has been proactive at the local, state, or federal government level to improve fire/emergency services and life safety issues in Indiana. This award exemplifies the work, dedication and distinctive leadership, of the late Ivan Nevil and his dedication to the Indiana Volunteer Firefighters Association and the fire service of this state. Ivan's legacy resonates in the message he would impart calling for a stronger fire service as a group effort looking and planning for tomorrow.

Award Goals
Each year an officer or individual from the fire and emergency services community with in the state will receive the Ivan Nevil Fire Service Leadership Award. This individual should exemplify one or more of the following goals:

  • Leadership in promoting the Indiana Volunteer Firefighter's Association
  • Leadership in promoting and supporting fire/emergency service and life safety issues
  • Advancing the readiness of the Fire/EMS services at any level of government (local, county, state, federal)
  • Strengthening education through the development of fire education training programs

Past Winners

2011 - Larry Curl
2012 - James "Jim" Parker
2013 - David Israel
2014 - L.E. "Buz" Koehler, IVFA Past President
2015 - Larry Bartlow
2016 - Jack Kerney
2017 - Beverly Harker